Formula E | What's new & who's who in season four?


Since it's inaugural season in 2014, the FIA Formula E Championship has grown year-on-year, with a variety of teams, faces and places making an appearance in the world's first all-electric single-seater series. Now, rapidly approaching the start of its fourth season, there's more exciting changes on the horizon. Ahead of round one in Hong Kong, here's all that's new and a who's who in Season Four of the FIA Formula E Championship.


New faces

Season Four welcomes in four new faces to the grid in the form of seasoned endurance drivers Andre Lotterer and Neel Jani, as well as former Italian IndyCar driver Luca Filippi and experienced DTM pro, Edoardo Mortara.


New places

With 14 races taking place in 11 host cities, across five continents, Season Four has one of the most exciting race calendars to date. Alongside bringing back circuit racing to Switzerland for the first time in over 60 years with the Zurich E-Prix, the series will also be making its debut on the streets of Rome, Santiago, and Sao Paulo.


More power

In Season Four, the cars will benefit from an additional 10kW of power in race mode. Increasing the power output from 170kW to 180kW means either faster or longer races for Season Four, showcasing how Formula E technology is advancing the development of electric road cars.